Help! In Desperate Need Of Assistance

Guest Newbie

Hi There,

My name is Bec and I need some advice if any one can help.

Basically my father had an aviary of budgies and cockatiels but recently passed away, I am his only daughter and have given it allot of though and decided to take the aviary and the birds to my place to look after as my evil step mum was just going to open the door and let them fend for themselves :D

I was around there yesterday working out the best option to transport when i noticed a lieelt babay budie on the ground of the aviary.

He can barley walk as he is just finding his feet and he has just started getting some feathers. My guess would be maybe he is around 2 weeks old.

I have put him in a shoe box with some warm tissues and have fed him some milk arrowroot biccies mushed with warm water. Just wondering what I should do as I would love him/her to survive.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated as I am very new to all of this.

Thanks

• Member ID:  1,536
  • Group:  Site Members
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  84
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  2,753
  • Content Per Day:  0.39
  • Achievement Points:  16,870
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  0

Was there an obvious nest box that he came out of? If so you should put him back in, but keep an eye on him just incase you got the wrong nestbox or the mother doesn't want him anymore and attacks. Although if you get the right nest box he should be fine and the mother is most lkikely to take him back. In regards to hand feeding him, you should buy some handraising formula from the petshop and follow its instructions.

Does he have pin feathers yet? If not he is under two weeks.