• Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  5
  • Content Per Day:  0.00
  • Achievement Points:  35
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  0

I hate to start my first post this way, but I am frantic.

I've had my young 3 to 5 month old budgies for about 4 weeks now. They have been doing great, till this morning. On Tuesday evening, late, an aquaintence came over with her son and wanted to finger hold the budgies. I saw no harm in that. Afterwards, she tells me they have been "playing" with fire belly frogs, letting them crawl all over their hands. They held my birds without washing their hands. On Friday morning both my birds were on the bottom of the cage, feather's ruffled, sneezing, very sick, lathargic and didn't resist my picking them up. My vet doesn't treat birds and the nearest one she suggested lives an hours drive away and I don't have an account with him.

I am a college student on grants and loans, so a new vet is impossible at the moment. It may not have been the frogs, but I don't know. I keep the air conditioner on 75 so it doesn't get to cold, they are not in a draft, but the fan was on in the living room all night, but their cage was wrapped with two folded sheets. I did let them sit in the window sill Monday and Tuesday for an hour or so, but it was 90some degrees outside and humid. They loved hearing and seeing the other birds.

Anyway, I've been keeping them warm with little bottles of hot water in socks, kept most of the cage covered with a sheet, and have been very quiet today.

I have Doxycycline Hyclate 100mg from the vet that was for my dog (who had to be put to sleep due to cancer two months ago). If I dilute this in 8 oz of water and use an eyedroper to give it to my birds, will it help? Do I have a chance of saving my new little budgies? I don't want to loose them.

• Member ID:  6,185
  • Group:  Site Members
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  43