Help Needed-i Have A Baby Budgie Abandoned By Mum

Guest Sandy

Guest Sandy

Hello everyone. One of our budgies hatched four eggs between one a half weeks and two weeks ago. The youngest was being pushed aside and was considerably smaller than the rest. When the youngest was nearly a week old he/she did not look much larger than when born. I took him/her out and have kept him inside and hand fed since.

This is my first attempt at breeding and I don't know what is usual. When I brought the baby inside he looked like his crop was stuffed with seed. This took a couple of days to pass and then I guess his crop looked normal but would only go down at night.

Yesterday his crop did not seem to reduce in size at all, and this morning it is still full. Would he have a bowl blokage? If so, is there anything I can give him? Should I feed him some water? Do I continue to feed him the formula and hope it will pass?

Any suggestions? :budgiedance:

Guest stacey1
Hello everyone. One of our budgies hatched four eggs between one a half weeks and two weeks ago. The youngest was being pushed aside and was considerably smaller than the rest. When the youngest was nearly a week old he/she did not look much larger than when born. I took him/her out and have kept him inside and hand fed since.

This is my first attempt at breeding and I don't know what is usual. When I brought the baby inside he looked like his crop was stuffed with seed. This took a couple of days to pass and then I guess his crop looked normal but would only go down at night.

Yesterday his crop did not seem to reduce in size at all, and this morning it is still full. Would he have a bowl blokage? If so, is there anything I can give him? Should I feed him some water? Do I continue to feed him the formula and hope it will pass?

Any suggestions? :budgiedance: