New To Breeding, Tips On When Time Is Right Needed

Guest _David_

Guest _David_

I just bought my 1st pair of Budgies from the local pet store, i am not new to budgie care but i am new to breeding. From the color of the male and the female's ceres they are both old enough to breed, my question was when and how long will it take the two birds to be ready to breed? I know that the color of the female's cere turns a rich darkish brown color, but a walkthrough of when the time is right and how long it usually takes for the pair to be ready to breed would really be helpful :(

• Member ID:  1,641
  • Group:  Site Members
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  414
  • Topics Per Day:  0.06
  • Content Count:  15,350
  • Content Per Day:  2.23
  • Achievement Points:  99,335
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  0

I don't breed but you can't tell how old the bird is by the color of their ceres. The female cere will be brown by 6 months and the males blue by 6 months. Depending on the mutation the males cere would remain pink. Also depending you may be able to see the iris ring and that would at least let you know that they may be over 8 months but that is no guarantee because my 4 month old has his already. By the first molt there babies bars are gone so that is another non indicator of age.

Saying that did you ask the pet store how old? I doubt but maybe they would have had them for over a year. Budgies should be allowed to breed until they are at least 18 months, they can of course breed earlier but there is more risk of failure of the clutch. Both birds may not be mentally ready to take on a family.

I am sure others will also give you good advice, welcome :(

Edited by lovey
Guest _David_